starting strength gym

Thread: Experiencing soreness in post-novice program

Default Experiencing soreness in post-novice program

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I'm a 46 year old trainee, training for general strength. I have moved on past a typical novice program (started Andy Baker's Strength & Mass over 40 program about 4 weeks ago).

This week, I started the 2d cycle through the program--so Tuesday was my heavy squat day (Wk 1 was 3x5, Wk 2 was 3x3, Wk 3 was 3x1, so this Tuesday was 3x5 again, 5lbs heavier than Wk1 3x5). I completed the sets and reps, but found myself pretty sore on Wednesday and today (Thursday). I haven't been sore in a long time; is this pretty normal when doing a program with fluctuating rep ranges like this? This program has heavy squats on Tuesday and lighter, tempo squats on Friday.

Just curious if others experience this same thing.

Soreness comes and goes. It's not weird for you to not be that sore in a while and then be sore suddenly especially if you have other stress in your life or recovery doesn't go well. Heavy 3x5 for you might have been enough to cause soreness, because after all, it is heavy for you.

What is the surrounding programming? What are you doing for deadlifts/chins, etc?
    Starting Strength Indianapolis is up and running. Sign up for a free 30-minute coaching session.
    I answer all my emails: ALewis@StartingStrengthGyms.com

Thanks for that reply and sorry for the delayed response!

Sorrounding programming:

Monday: Heavy Press, Light Bench (3x5-8), LTE (3x8-10)
    Tuesday: HEavy Squat, Chins (3xAMRAP--right now about 5), Barbell Rows (3x10), Barbell curls (3x8-12)
    Wed: Off, or conditioning
    Thursday: Heavy Bench, Light press (tempo, 5x3), incline dumbell press (3x10)
    Friday: Heavy Deadlift, Light squat (5x3), Stiff leg deadlift (2x8)

That's it. On my second cycle through.