starting strength gym

Thread: Numbness/Pins & Needles in Shoulders and Arms

Default Numbness/Pins & Needles in Shoulders and Arms

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    5'8", 273lbs, Age 45
    Squat: 290, DL: 320, Bench: 170, Press: 110

I've been doing the NLP for a little over 3 months, and have been very sedentary for a good 7 years with a computer job prior to starting training last year.

For the past few years I've experienced numbness down my arms in the morning when driving. (Arms out in front seemed to be the trigger). This would typically be gone by noon, and I'd forget about it. Always an annoyance, but it went away soon enough.

Over the last week, I've developed a pins and needles sensation between and around the shoulder blades periodically throughout the day. I also feel it down my arms (burning/numbness). I'm noticing it now as I sit on the couch typing this. I'm trying to hold my arms in various positions to see if I can isolate a trigger, but not much luck so far. Arms out in front (bench press) does seem to trigger it. Squeezing shoulder blades back with arms at my sides seems to help. I feel like I want to "crack" my neck and keep rolling it. I hear some popping, but no real relief.

Got an MRI last year and results said: Cervical spine MRI demonstrates shallow mid line protrusions at C4-5 and C5-6 without cord deformity. The C5-6 level canal is minimally narrowed. At least moderate bilateral C-6 foraminal stenosis is present. no superimposed acute abnormality, cord impingement or intrinsic cord pathology.

The MRI was from a few weeks before I started training. I was in Physical therapy for about 4 weeks prior to starting the NLP.
    Not sure what to do about it.