starting strength gym

Thread: Total newbie help

Default Total newbie help

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hello! I read the SS book a long time ago and I'm trying to get into weight lifting. I started using the official app and have questions:

1.) I tried to find the "right" starting weight for my workouts but on the second week it had me deadlifting 135pounds and that's a PR for me. Is that right?
    2.) I feel like I could try to do the weights it suggests but I feel my form isn't great but then is it just between not having good form and also just constantly deloading?
    3.) Wow there are so many sets for warmups! Do most people do all of these to make sure they are ready to lift?
    4.) I have a strong urge to save time so I want to do a deadlift warm up during my recovery time for bench pressing, how wrong is that? Or is that okay?
    5.) Is 120s the best rest time and I should just not do anything during that rest time?
    6.) Overhead presses feel super heavy for me with the 45 bar, any suggestions?

Hoping this is a friendly community, sorry if these are dumb questions.

This community is friendly enough, but it is impatient with people who will not read before asking.

How old are you? What is your height and weight?

I have a pair of (almost) full diameter 10 lb bumper plates, which let me start with a 65 deadlift to warm up.
    I do all the warm ups per the app because I’m afraid to get hurt if I don’t.
    I started my overhead press with the empty bar because just that felt heavy.
    I have heard that if you’re pressed for time, warming up the next exercise during the rests between work sets of the current exercise can be done to save time.

Non of this is advice, just something I do, or have heard.

I would advise starting a log on the forum which will get you some friendly advice from the regulars who have been at this much longer than I.