starting strength gym
Page 1 of 16 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Yet another skinny guy

Default Yet another skinny guy

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I'm a novice, about 2 weeks into Starting Strength now. Actually, I'm doing more like Kethnaabs program (dips added to the deadlift day and chins/pullups added to the powerclean day). I'm a 23-year old skinny guy, 6'2", 167 lbs. My cheapo BIA scale says I'm 10.5-11% bodyfat, and the mirror says I'm 0% muscle. We're gonna fix that.

Goals: Get bodyweight to 185, squat at least my bodyweight, be able to do 3x15 dips/pulls/chins. I also want to regain the flexibility I used to have ~5 years ago.

My most recent workouts:

Tuesday:
    Squat 3x5x105 lbs
    Bench 3x5x85 lbs
    Deadlift 2x5x132 lbs
    Dips 5/4/4 reps

Thursday:
    Squat 3x5x115 lbs
    Press 3x5x55 lbs
    Powerclean 5x3x85 lbs
    Pullups 2/0/0 reps (I've done better than this before, but I felt like crap on thursday for some reason)

I'm an experienced cyclist (2 centuries under my belt), and ran track back in high school (did the 400m, 300m hurdles, and high jump), but have never lifted weights seriously. I'm absolutely having a blast so far, but we'll see how that changes when they start getting heavy.

Squat 3x5x125 - lost my balance and failed mid-3rd set, so I wrote off that set and did a 4th set to count as my 3rd.
    Bench 3x5x95
    Deadlift 1x5x154
    Dips 6/6/4

Squat and bench are both pretty heavy now - I'll do 5 lbs increase on both instead of 10.

Another day, another 4 PRs:

Squat 3x5x130 lbs
    Press 3x5x60 lbs
    Power clean 5x3x90 lbs
    Chinups 5/5/2 sets

No problems. Bar speed on squat is still low, but this was easier than 125 lbs 2 days ago.