starting strength gym
Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Thread: What the hell, I'll play along....

Default What the hell, I'll play along...

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    All right, I'll post my stuff up here. Maybe someone can learn from my successes, but more importantly learn from my mistakes.

A little background first:
    30 years old, 6 foot, 230 pounds, I've been training effectively for about 8 years. Before that, I was a victim of an uneducated football coach and the fitness/bodybuilding media hype that pollutes the waters of true strength training. I trained and competed in strongman for about 6 years, and I still train the events about 3 times a month just because I like the guys I'm with and it's a nice break from the gym. Although, I don't compete in strongman anymore because I didn't like the direction it was going.

A few months ago in March I suffered a moderate lumbar strain while squatting. It's something that I'm still wrestling with because I'm not 18 anymore. So, this log picks up somewhere along the road to getting back to where I was before.

Today's workout:

Squat - 135x5, 225x5, 315x2, 365x1, 385x5
    I've started using my belt at 315 and heavier since my "injury." The first 4 reps of the 385 felt easy and smooth. I came a little out of my groove on the 5th, but still pulled out of it without too much trouble. Best I've done since my "injury," but still shy of my previous 5RM

RDL's - 225 for 2 sets of 5
    couldn't get into the groove with these today so I switched to stiff-legs off the floor

Stiff-legs - 315 for 2 sets of 5

Glute/Ham/Gastroc raises - 25 pounds dropped to bodyweight for 2 sets
    I use these primarily as a hamstring activation exercise. I'm new to performing these utilizing the hamstrings and gastrocs instead of the spinal erectors. So, still getting the hang of them.