starting strength gym

Thread: NLP third attempt - Night shift worker

Default NLP third attempt - Night shift worker

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    hello all, I'm a new member and I'm attempting the NLP for the third time.

I'm 41 and I've been working night shit consistently for the about 3 years (very consistent schedule, working from 8PM to 4AM, sleeping from 5AM to 12PM, workout 2PM-3PM). I'm working on changing this situation but to do so I need to relocate, so my plan has been postponed for 2 years, and counting, thanks to the COVID madness... but that's another topic

1st attempt, Mar-Jun 2020: I got stuck very early; I was not eating enough and not resting well, I got diagnosed with a severe sleeping apnea and have been using a CPAP machine ever since
    2nd attempt, Oct-Dec 2020: I got stuck at exactly the same weights (very low) and gained no muscle but a bunch of body fat. I was always tired... got tested for low T (low 200s) and started TRT in May 2021

I kept training in a "BB style" while starting TRT and noticed some improvements in terms of body fat loss and muscle building and a little increment in strength, so I decided to give SS NLP another try

So here are my current results in 5 weeks of SS
    Weight: 208 -> 214 lbs
    waist: 38" -> 39"
    Squat: 230 -> 270 lbs
    Deadlift: 255 -> 305 lbs
    Bench: 135 -> 155 lbs
    Press: 100 -> 115 lbs
    Power clean: 95 ->130 (here I started very low because I've never done that before; unfortunately I think I have to stop because I have a previousely injured left knee that hurts for a couple of days after I clean)

my current diet is about 3300kcal/day with 210g protein, 310g carbs and 130g fat (averages from my log but pretty consistent from day to day)