starting strength gym
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Journal headed into my 2nd lifting competition

Default 2nd competiton and beyond

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Peace and best wishes to everyone on this board for strength and health. This is my first time posting online, and I'm doing so at the request of my buddy Locutus, who I met this summer.

Like the thread title says, I'm preparing for my 2nd meet, which is in 5 weeks (11/22) in Annapolis, MD. I compete in squat suit for squat/deadlift, and raw for bench. I have a bench shirt, but sadly I don't know any other powerlifters/enthusiastic helpers near me who can help me get it on properly on a regular basis. I do plan to use it in my 3rd meet though.

My first meet was in August of this year. I weighed 192 1/4lb. Best lifts were -
    squat: 453
    bench: 275
    dead: 512
    total: 1240

My goal for the next one is a 1300 total. I'm doing two things differently in my training this time. #1 - training every other day instead of 4 set days per week. #2 - The first training day of the cycle, I train squat, bench, dead together, which I've started to call "competition day". So it looks like
    Day 1 - comp. day
    Day 2 - off
    Day 3 - squat/dead assistance
    Day 4 - off
    Day 5 - bench assistance
    Day 6 - off
    Day 7 - comp. day (cycle repeats)

If anyone out there has trained all 3 lifts on the same day for any length of time, please post some feedback and let me know what your results were.I've only read about one person who did this, and I think it was a strongman whose name I can't remember. My rationale was based on a coach/lifter who was helping me made at my 1st meet. He mentioned that I was probably stronger on the bench than I performed, but I never squat before I bench in training. He didn't suggest that I do that, but I thought I would give it a try and see if it made a difference.