starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Back scabbing up from squatting

Default Back scabbing up from squatting

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hey folks,

I'm new to weight lifting and have started seriously going to the gym fairly recently. I read the book and all's been pretty good. My squat numbers have gone up to a decent level (for myself anyway starting from just the bar - 245x5 for 3 sets) but I've noticed that I've started to get these abrasions/scabs where the bar rests on my back. Initially I ignored them but soon enough it got to the point that I was bleeding after squat sessions. I've healed up a bit so they're not too bad but see the scabs/discolored marks on each shoulder in the below pic. In the second pic I'm sorta simulating a squat position without a bar.

Imgur: The magic of the Internet

Is this normal? Am I doing something wrong? Is the bar placement incorrect for low bar squatting? It feels secure when I'm performing the exercise and my bar path is vertical from what I can tell, but these stupid scabs are starting to annoy me (plus it looks weird). The last few workouts I've used the bar pad but aside from feeling like a complete wuss I don't feel as secure when using it. Open to any wisdom the group may offer.

Thanks!

What did they say when you went to the emergency room?

Are you wearing a tank top when you squat by any chance? I've made that mistake before – resulted in similar irritation. Went away when I wised up and switched to a tshirt.

It'll adapt. Just wear a thicker (but still form-fitting and cotton) shirt for the time being. You should not use a barbell pad or whatever it's called. It is absolutely less stable.
    Starting Strength Indianapolis is up and running. Sign up for a free 30-minute coaching session.
    I answer all my emails: ALewis@StartingStrengthGyms.com

I get that when i sweat a lot, skin rubs more or something.