starting strength gym

Thread: baseball (pitchers especially) lifting question

Default baseball (pitchers especially) lifting question

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi, I recently sent this e-mail question to Darin Deaton, but I thought what the heck why don't I ask everyone their opinions. While I respect and would like to hear all SS Disciple opinions, I would especially like to hear the opinions of those in the medical field(s). Thanks!

Hello Darin, my name is Travis Greer and I am a High School PE Teacher in Olathe, KS. I just watched you presentation on Barbell use in the clinic and I thought you might be the man I need to talk to.

I teach a few Strength and Conditioning classes, run our winter and summer after school weights program, and teach everyone the techniques taught in SSBBT 3rd Edition. I have practiced the SS techniques in my own lifting for the past few years and have taught them to every student I have had for the past two. In my weight room I teach the squat, press, deadlift, bench press, power clean, chin up, and pull up. Once in a blue moon we will front squat, close grip bench, barbell row, barbell curl, and jump up stairs.

Recently, I have had a few baseball players, parents, and coaches ask me about modification to upper body lifts. Not lifting overhead, not benching, and not lifting heavy being the most common. I always give them this list of reason why the athlete will be perfectly fine with all upper body lifts as they are taught…

1: I teach correct bench press technique that does not impinge the shoulder joint and will make the shoulder strong and healthy.
    2: Lifting will only be done with the technique that is taught and will always be followed. No exceptions
    3: We do press, chins, and pull-ups, which strengthens and develops more of the shoulder and upper back that is usually underdeveloped due to only bench pressing.