starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My achy breaky back

Default My achy breaky back

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Good day!

I lived my life with with very little back problems until this past December. Had a really bad spasm that locked my back/ hips/ left leg up for a couple weeks, then a bit of recovery time with discomfort and pain but good movement, for about another month. Cause unknown, go figure. I'm suspecting it had something to do with moving a piano [wrong] a few weeks prior.

I'm 30, male, 6'1, 170 today, 165 a few days ago (got to 175 a couple weeks ago before this layoff), and my lifts really suck because I'm just getting started. I was 155 after a bout of diahhrea and coinciding dehydration/lack of food in February. It was right after that I decided that "excercising" was stupid, and I would do the starting strength L.P. sometime in the near future and lift what I could progressively until procuring a barbell and rack. That went well, gained 10 lbs back, and started my LP in early July.

I was already rehabbing my deadlift (low back tweak) with high volume bottom pin rack pulls, adding weight each time, got to 185 rack pulls 2x5 (little less volume) after warmups and started 1x5 at 175 from the floor to get on the damn program since my back was feeling REALLY good from rack pulls and squats. Got that to 200lbs 1x5.

Started having hip pain(in the joint itself) doing squats at 165, ground through it to 185 3x5 squat. It hurt too bad even deloading and I decided to let the hip joints calm down and 're evaluate my stance. I was way too wide stanced with toes way out (this felt stronger but my hip joints disagreed). Did some experimenting and found a little narrower with toes a tiny bit more in didn't cause pain, and I'd resume training in 4 or 5 days.