starting strength gym

Thread: Deadlift Form and Back Strain

Default Deadlift Form and Back Strain

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I'm a newbie to lifting and trying to self teach myself the proper lift forms. Long story short, I have strained my back attempting to follow the 5 step deadlift procedure and can't figure out where I'm messing up. I strained my back about a month ago pulling deadlifts and gave it a couple weeks of rest. Came back at a lower weight hoping to work my way back up and tweaked it again. Very frustrated. Where am I messing up? Guys at the gym tell me I need to put more weight on my heals and pull from the heals. That's not what the book says. Can someone point out my flaws and give some guidance?

Here's a link to the video: YouTube

Any help is much appreciated. Also, if anyone has any tips for getting over back strain, that would be great too. It sucks walking around with pain.

Three related things.

1. You're starting with the bar slightly behind midfoot. Get a little more separation between bar and shins before you take your grip.

2. More squeeze. Probably at least partially due to #1, you're not squeezing up all the way. It will be easier to do with your knees slightly more bent, as they will be when you start with the more a bit more forward. Use that additional knee bend to really squeeze up till your back is rigid and flat. Your shoulders will be a little higher relative to your hips after you squeeze, than they are here.

3. With the bar over midfoot and your knees a little more bent at the initiation of the pull, you'll be able to properly initiate with knee extension, instead of back extension. Think about pushing the floor away with your feet, while keeping your shoulders out over the bar. Don't try to make your torso vertical right away. Drag the bar up by initiating primarily with knee extension.