starting strength gym

Thread: Squat Form Check

Default Squat Form Check

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hello!

Can I get a squat form check? YouTube

My knees start caving in more and more throughout the set, so I'm trying to use the "knees out" cue. Is there anything else I should work on?

Details:
    36 yo M @ 230 bw

squat set is 310 lbs x 5.

I've been doing the advanced novice program for a few months and it feels like I'm starting to get to the point where my sets will be grinders. I've deloaded a couple times on squat because I've been worried about form breakdown.

Thanks!

The bad news is there is a lot to fix in your squat.
    The good news is you came to the right place to improve it.

We'll start with a few of the most fundamental things and see if we can get those better, and then move on to the other stuff.

1. You over-extend your low back right before you descend. Stop doing that extra movement. Go from normal standing posture, where you back is in normal anatomical extension, into your squat descent. Don't add the over-extension beforehand.

2. Initiate descent with "lean over and knees out" simultaneously. Your knees will go forward, they're going too far forward in fact. If you immediately focus on OUT instead of forward, they should end up going closer to the right place.

3. Cut off 2 inches of depth and drive your hips straight up from there. Not back. Up.

Thanks Wolf! I'll get to work on it. Do you think I should continue on the progression or should I deload and work back up?