starting strength gym

Thread: Elbow Pain from Squats

Default Elbow Pain from Squats

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I have been doing the program for 2 1/2 months about. Still after all this time, I still have not gotten the squat grip to a point where my left elbow feels completely fine. I know the issue. It is that there is too much of a perpendicular moment on my elbow created by the weight of the bar. If I try to allow less of the weight of the barbell onto my arms, then the barbell feels as if it is slide down my back. If I feel as if it will slide down my back, then I can't concentrate as much on the actual squatting. Should I continue with the low bar, or should I give high bar a try and see how it goes? It seems like most people on the internet are really against even the notion of going high bar.

Quote Originally Posted by ColoradoCole View Post
    It seems like most people on the internet are really against even the notion of going high bar.
    This is because most of the time, the issue can be resolved without doing this, though if it really and truly can't, then high bar is probably the next best option.

You'll need to post a video of your squat, that very clearly shows the bar position and your elbows and arms, for me to help more.

Okay, here's a video of yesterday:
    YouTube
    (If you feel like it, any other form suggestions would be appreciated!)

General Stuff:

1: Eat more
    2. Go an inch or two less deep
    3. Drive your hips up through the sticking point instead of switching to lifting your chest when it gets hard.

Elbow Stuff: