starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Other Coaching Credentials - A General Question about this Profession

Default Other Coaching Credentials - A General Question about this Profession

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Dear coaches - I am curious about your general opinion about the coaching profession in strength training area. What other credentials in your eyes are relatively reputable and widely acknowledged besides SSC? What other coaching certificates, if any, did you have (or still do) before you became a Starting Strength Coach?

The urban legend has it that the passing rate to become an SSC is below 30%. I also understand that SSC has its own assessment system and doesn't require any other certificate as a "prerequisite". Most of what it takes to become an SSC is detailed in this post: https://startingstrength.com/resourc...gth-coach.html. I have no knowledge on how difficult to obtain other training/coaching credentials, but assume that SSC certificate is one of the hardest, so an SSC should have more of a prerogative, if you will, to comment and judge other credentials. And it seems like a fun and informing topic to discuss!

Other credentials/certifications in the fitness industry? I haven't done it but I hear precision nutrition is decent. Besides that, I don't know of any. I was certified by ACE from 2006-2010, and NSCA from 2008-2017, and both were a waste of time. I kept the NSCA so long on the chance I'd need it for employment at some future point, but just couldn't justify wasting my time and money anymore.
    If I ever do need it again, I'll take the damn test again, and also be really disappointed that I let myself get into such a position.