starting strength gym

Thread: Novice needs advice re: limiting rock climbing

Default Novice needs advice re: limiting rock climbing

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I'm new to this, I hope it's the right forum.

I'm a 61 year-old novice, male, 6', 200 lbs., struggling with the lifts, starting to realize firsthand the importance of recovery and of limiting extraneous exercise in order to progress, especially at the beginning, especially when you're older.

About three years ago, before I discovered Starting Strength, I started rock climbing - mostly in the rock gym (though doing more outside is the goal) and I've tried to climb about twice a week.

I'm a klutz at climbing, and finger/grip/forearm strength is my Achilles heel, and I don't want to lose whatever I might have gained in terms of those. Once I took 2 months off and swore I'd never do that again.

But now I'm walking around with two layers of soreness, muscle fatigue, and occasional minor injury from two very intense full-body activities from which I have to recover to make progress. If I go to the rock gym the day after squats I feel like I'm interfering with recovery from them; if I do squats the day after the rock gym, when legs, knees, etc. feel tired and sore, I feel like it's interfering with the squats. Also important: a single session at the rock gym can mean 4 or 5 hours of time, what with the drive, resting between climbs (lots of resting), and world class gossiping with belay partners. Add to that three days a week of SS - and my sessions tend to be long, because I rest a lot - that's a lot of time.