starting strength gym
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: Force Transfer Between Body Segments - A Physics Question

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I think stickmans ankles are going to get really sore doing that.

In the diagram with the moments, why do all three joints have 4330 inch pounds of torque? Shouldn't the moment on the knee and the ankle be less than the hip?

Assuming I understand hypertrophy's question, I don't have a full answer for it, but here are some thoughts. Hope I have this right. If not, someone with more experience please correct me, I'm still learning...

First, let's sharpen the question.

In the image above (which I've adapted from another image in this thread, so forgive the strange protuberances), assume that the green limbs are massless, and that G represents ground (imagine someone has no shanks and has their knee - point A - attached to G).

Points A and B are frictionless hinge joints. There are no muscles, and the only force in play is the force of gravity on point C (point C is directly above point A).

The question is, what happens to the system once we hit "start" on the simulation?

The answer is that the torso will rotate downwards around point B, and the femur will not move.

We know this because the horizontal distance between C and A is zero, and thus there is no torque around A (and since the limbs are massless they cannot impart a torque around A).

You are correct that forces are transmitted through matter (in this case, through the torso and femur). But the beauty of using the moment arm analysis is that we don't need to track the forces through the entire causal chain. We can skip directly from C to A and use the technology of moment arm analysis (it really is a technology) to simplify things. The simplification produces the correct answer, but can be misleading in terms of understanding causation.