starting strength gym
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Tonya Gets Strong

Default Tonya Gets Strong

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I've been working out forever and I'm always 15 lbs heavier than I'd like to be. My workout history is many years of high rep weight training and aerobics of some sort with videos. After I had my son three years ago, I started training differently. The only time I had to workout was on my lunch hour, so I joined a gym and started with Turbulence Training. This really transformed the way I workout. I no longer needed or wanted DVDs.

I started working out at home again about a year and half ago when I started doing my job from home. No squat rack led me to kettlebells and that has been my main focus lately. I've dabbled with Crossfit and have determined that I'm just plain not strong enough. I also frayed my rotator cuff (at least that's what my dr. told me) just over a year ago. PT help heal that, but since then I've almost completely neglected pushups and all chest work.

I acquired the Starting Strength Book and DVD a few weeks ago and got myself a freestanding squat rack. I already had an Olympic weight set. Next purchase is a bench, but that will have to wait a few weeks. I'm doing pushups for now and those are plenty challenging.

I'm 39 years old and a woman (in case the name and having a son didn't clue you in).

OK, enough dang history...I did my first workout yesterday. I was kind of just trying to figure out what weights to use and kept adding to the bar. The first two sets for the squats and deadlifts are supposed to be warmup sets.

Workout A 3/29/2010
    3x5 Squat 45/55/65/75/85
    3x5 Pushups 5/5/5 - Set 2 & 3: 2 on the toes, 3 elevated.
    3x5 Deadlift 65/75/95/105/115
    2x8 Chair Dips 8/8
    NOTES: Wow, I suck at pushups now.
    Conditioning:5 Rounds kettlebell swings, 16k, 1 minute on, 1 minute rest