starting strength gym

Thread: Peter's Log: A Summer on Starting Strength

Default Peter's Log: A Summer on Starting Strength

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi guys,
    I have completed my first week on the Onus Wunsler version of SS. Having done both the original program and the Onus Wunsler version before, I prefer the latter and have chosen to implement it this summer. The details:

Background:
    I have been lifting weights for approximately 2 year, but it wasn't until I started with SS about 6-7 months ago that I got on a decent program and made some gains. I got my squat to 230 lb (3x5), press to 100 lb (3x5), power clean to 135 lb (5x3), bench to 145 lb (3x5), and deadlift to 265lb (1x5). During this period my weight went from 140lb to 155lb.
    As an engineering student, I go through stretches where I'm so busy and stressed from school that I have a problem gaining strength despite the fact that I'm eating enough. I haven't figured out how to solve this problem yet (school takes priority of course). For the last couple of months I have been losing strength and weight while lifting sporadically (and not eating or sleeping enough). I'm now back to 140ish. School is not a problem right now though because it's summer and I'm not taking classes. Time to get strong dammit!

Goal: By the end of the summer (10-12 weeks or so) I would like to be able to lift: Squat=280lb, Press=130lb, Deadlift=300lb, Bench=180, Power Clean=165. Regardless of whether or not I reach these numbers, my slightly longer term goal is to get all the way through linear progress. Beyond that I'm not sure which direction I would like to take, but I think we can all agree that the first step is reaching the intermediate level.

Starting Stats:
    Height:5'7"
    Weight: 142lb
    Squat: 180 lb
    Bench: 130 lb
    Press: 80 lb
    Deadlift: 215 lb
    Power Clean: 115 lb

The program: