starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Julie's SS log

Default Julie's SS log

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi!

Yesterday I did my first SS workout! I've been doing a program called New Rules of Lifting for Women for about 2 months but I've decided to switch over to SS because I've realized that I want a program that is more oriented toward building strength. The New Rules program has a lot to offer and I'd recommend it if your primary goal is fat loss and general fitness. It's not a strength training program.

First, a note on the genetics I'm working with. I'm 28 years old, 5'2" and female, usually 120-125 pounds though lately it's sometimes up at 127-128. So around there somewhere. My bathroom scale says I'm about 22% bodyfat. I have a relatively stocky build - My ankles are 9 inches at the narrowest which is fairly thick for someone of my height and gender so I do have some things going for me when it comes to strength potential.

My first exposure to anything strength related was through rock climbing. I started climbing after college when I was 23 and I couldn't do a pull up. Took me about 1.5 years of climbing before I could do a full pull up. I've really enjoyed the strength gains from climbing, but my climbing progress plateaued about 2 years into climbing, never got much beyond beginner level, and now I mostly climb for social reasons.

When I was 25 I took a fall and hit the wall really hard and badly sprained my ankle. I couldn't walk on it normally for several weeks and had to take about a 6 month break from climbing. In the mean time, my friend who had been lifting on and off for years taught me a bunch of lifts (some with dumbbells, some machine stuff) so I did that for a few months. Once I was able to climb again I stopped lifting and went back to just climbing.