starting strength gym
Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: tfarny starts starting strength

Default tfarny starts starting strength

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi all:
    New to this forum and pretty new to focusing on getting strong. I am 39, have not ever really lifted before, and my efforts at health have always been half-assed. I was healthy in my 20s like everyody I suppose. I'm a hardgainer, ectomorph.
    I started lifting on Stronglifts 5x5 two months ago and came here when I wised up. I'm doing SS + assistance exercises pretty close to Mark's plan:
    A
    Squat 3x5 (started 95, now 160)
    Bench 3x5 (started 95, now 160)
    Power clean 5x3 (Just started, 105, form stinks)
    Inverted rows (aussie pullups) (12 on first set, usually three sets)
    Weighted pushups (35 lbs, 8 5 5)
    B
    Squat 3 x 5
    Press 3 x 5 (started 64, now 100)
    Push Press 2 x it depends (115)
    Deads 1 x 5 (started 135, now 205) been doing 2 x 5 because it feels dumb to put it all away after warming up and getting set up.
    Pullups (9 strict dead hang full chins on a good day, first set) 3 sets x f
    Bridges (10 sec each alternating: elbows, hands, l. side, r. side) 3 x failure

Nice to meet everyone, I'll post more later. Any comments or criticisms welcome.
    Last edited by tfarny; 11-30-2010 at 12:10 AM.

Default One idea

I had was to knock off the bench for a couple of weeks and move the push press and chins into that spot, for the sake of balance and getting stronger in the shoulders and arms.

The Basic Strength Standards tables show that press to be about 65-70% of bench press weight. Your press is 62.5% so it really isn't behind by much. Just a 4 pounds which is probably well within the error of the tables.