starting strength gym
Page 1 of 48 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Viola's Log

Default Viola's Log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi all,

I am a 42 year old woman, 5'8", 170lbs. I am a novice lifter, having started last November practicing the main lifts using lots of reps and low (although increasing) weights. I started SS in my basement at the end of December.

I have the usual life issues competing with my training goals: kids, hubby, a sit-down computer job, volunteer work, hormones, poor sleep. I am a long-time runner and recently re-started playing soccer. I have been fairly active and athletic most of my life, but have never concentrated on strength, until now.

I am having a ball with SS! I am very-goal oriented, self-motivated, prefer working out alone, and I love seeing progress on my lifts. (Numbers ! charts! spreadsheets! planning!! what a geek....) The exception to my numbers obsession is nutrition. It has been fun eating for strength and performance instead of worrying about why my weight was creeping up even though I was running a lot. I don't like restricting my food too much, though, because that brings out my counterwill-binge feelings. So I have managed by counting protein grams.

Wow, that's a lot of info...

Here are my current stats. I am pausing my squat for a couple of weeks because of hip flexor pain. I wanted to wait to post until I was DTP again, but really, I need help and motivation now, not once I have solved my problems.

Working weights (3x5)
    Squat - 125lb
    DL - 165lb
    OH press - 165lb (reset once and microloading)
    BP - 90lb
    PC - haven't been doing it, no coaching and I am nervous about it. Keep strangling myself with the bar
    Pull-ups/chin-ups - 3 sets of 4 with a band

Anyways, I am grateful to anyone who says Hi or comments!
    Last edited by Viola; 03-06-2013 at 09:28 AM. Reason: boooring.