starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Going back to the start...

Default Going back to the start...

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I really enjoyed reading over the other logs here, so I thought I would include my own.

My story:
    I've been lifting since July, but unfortunately fell into the trap of under-eating due to a desire to keep low bodyfat (abs!) and followed a silly BB routine. Predictably, lifts did not progress past the novice stage, and that's where I have remained. I'm currently in grad school here in Michigan, and tend to do my workouts first thing in the morning fasted after 10g BCAA.

Current stats:
    Weight: 146 lbs (all future measures will be in English units)
    Height: 5' 11''

Previous bests were all done with atrocious form, but I think I'll include them anyway for reference (I have never done presses or cleans before):
    Squat: 185 x 6
    Bench: 155 x 4
    Deadlift: 280 x 3 (I actually have this on video - really bad form, relieved I didn't hurt myself)

Goals for 2014:
    I'm not sure yet how I feel about going over 200 lbs at the moment, I'll see how I feel once I put on a little weight and how much of a lard-ass I become. My goal is to gain about 30-40 lbs over the next 3-4 months. Hopefully by that time I will be able to squat in the upper-mid 200's.

I plan on doing GOMAD very soon - currently working my way up from a quart a day, and I should be doing a gallon shortly when the weight really starts getting heavy. Calories are currently about 3500 (unfortunately I'm quite obsessive about tracking calories) and I will work my way up to 4000-4500 over the next couple weeks - I had previously eaten 1700-1800 a day so I'm trying to make the change gradual.