starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dan's Log

Default Dan's Log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    3 months progress report

So I've been doing starting strength for 3 months now. When I started at the end of April I was about 150lb (@ 5'10'', 34 years old) and although I have attempted SS before I felt the need to start all the lifts from a low level as its been a couple of years since I picked up a barbell.

My weight progression is as follows, all current 5 rep lifts:

Bodyweight 150lb --> 168lb (waist size has stayed the same)

Squat 45kg --> 92.5kg (100lb to 205lb) (had several w/o's at the same weight to work on form)

Deadlift 60kg --> 97.5kg (135lb to 215lb) (had to deload recently to work on form)

Bench 25kg --> 55kg (55lb to 120lb) (upper body lifts are hard for me)

Press 20kg --> 37.5kg (45lb to 82.5lb) (as above)

Power clean not trained regularly due to me needing to work on deadlifting form but I can do 40kg (90lb). Will add this in properly once deadlift sorted.

Chin ups - gone from a couple of singles to 3 sets of 4,3,3 reps. So 10 in total.

So overall I'm pleased with this I think. Maybe not as fast progression as others have reported but I've worked up solidly and don't think I've gained much fat in the process. Initially I was eating 3k but upped this to 3.5k last 6 weeks or so and things are moving better on 3.5k.

I'm pleased to have hit the 168lb milestone on my bodyweight (12 UK stones is a nice round number).

I'm pleased that the video critiquing I've received from many people here on this forum has started to help me feel much better and more in control of my lifts. Especially my deadlift which felt much stronger the last couple of workouts now that my back control has improved.

Goals for next 3 months