starting strength gym
Page 1 of 74 1231151 ... LastLast

Thread: Antigeezerdom Log

Default Antigeezerdom Log

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hey folks,

Been lurking on this board for a while and decided to pony up my log. Been specifically reading Jon Sullivan, Mark Hurling, and Bobg’s logs since they are all old farts and I am heading that direction soon enough!

I’ve been running and lifting for several years culminating in running a couple marathons in 2012. I decided to push the strength envelope after achieving my cardio goals and fixated on Crossfit in June 2012. Crossfit was a ton of fun and I met some of my strength goals through this program. I learned how to do basic compound movements and trained up from being unable to do a pull up to being able to do sets of 2-3. The basic compound movements we did in Crossfit were like a tease to me because they were not consistently trained. I decided to take a break from Crossfit to a pure strength program due to work constraints and stumbled upon SS in 2013. I have been on SS since Feb 1. 2013 and have made decent progress.

I have zero interest in fat fucking myself on the gomad diet and will take my gains as they come. I currently adhere to a Paleoish diet with about 2300-3000 calories per day. I eat 180-200 g protein a day and this is the only macro I track. I eat three meals a day and make sure they are large enough for satiation. Occasionally I will eat milk products (once every two weeks or so) but am pretty dialed in on the Whole 30 paleo plan. I eat enough that I have plenty in the tank for recovery and support gains.

I have several goals for this program.
    1. Prepare me for a physically demanding job that requires mental/physical endurance.
    2. Prepare me to have the physical strength and ability to withstand the physical beat down of Krav Maga.