starting strength gym
Page 1 of 22 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Grant's Training Log

Default Grant's Training Log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I've been doing Starting Strength for almost two years now after two degenerated discs in my back decided to herniated and completely screw up my walking, jogging, triathlon training that I had done for a couple years. I made good beginner gains for about 4 months, then just basically screwed around off and on and fought a couple injuries (IT band syndrome, post-squat shoulder pain) off and on.

I just recently decided to stop worrying about the weight on the scale, bump up the caloric intake a bit, and the gainZzZ have been plentiful.

Me:
    Height: 6'2
    Weight: 219 lbs

PR's
    Squat - 310x5
    Bench - 215x2
    Pull - 370x5

Today was volume day so:

Squat
    Barx5, 95x5, 135x5, 185x5, 225x4, 245x2, 280x5x5

Bench
    135x5, 155x4, 190x5, 195x5x2, 195x4x2 (I was sharing a bar with Baraki and mismatched my weights on each side between the third and fourth set)

2 Count Pause Pull
    135x5, 185x4, 225x3, 260x5x2

It all felt good - the progress has been incredible with some changes in diet and not fighting injuries. I've put on 5-6 lbs in the last month and actually lost about .5" on my waist, which is nice to see for me.
    Last edited by grant.meeker; 11-09-2014 at 05:20 PM.

Good work today. Big milestone coming up for this week's intensity day!

Subbed! Looking forward to tracking the gainz.

Slightly sore for the first time on a long while. Squats felt a bit weak but doable.

Sq barx5 95x5 135x5 185x4 225x3 250x5x3 (No belt)

Been making some changes to my upper body programming (to conquer bench AIDS) and press form so it's still a bit off

Press
    Barx5x2 65x5 95x5 125x4x2 120x5

Pull ups 2, 2, 2, 2, 1x12
    Fun gym observations: