starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Starting over at 70 in France

Post Starting over at 70 in France

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I'm glad I discovered this forum.

I have no past athletic experience but started working out 15 months ago, and barbell training 5 months ago. Everybody thought I was crazy. I had arrived at a sink or swim dead end: with chronic arthritis in the knees, my quads had melted and almost unable to climb up but especially down the stairs! I was offered spinal surgery, knee replacement, you name it! I said "no way" so I was tossed a bone and "well all you got left is therapy".

I'm a semi retired surgeon and I know some of the ropes. I said therapy means exercise… Then, as a stroke of luck, I discovered SSBBT.

It has changed my life. I do 3, 75 min. workouts a week. Have no Coach around (I live in the French countryside) only local gym jocks but they don't help much. I stay concentrated on the book and the video.

I started slow and worked up to:
    SQ @ 127 x 5 x 3, Press 66 x 5 x 3, DL 167 x 3 x 3, BP 13 x 5 x 3 + curls etc.
    … then hit a wall. I said to myself this is not possible despite my age (6,1 198 lbs.). My form must be off.

So I backed off 60% and am starting over and adding only 2 to 3 lbs per workout. The only thing I feel I'm doing right is DL: I hit 176.

My question is this: do you think I'm still doing too much, wrong? Or am I on the right track and at a good pace?

Obviously, my weakest point are my quads. If I can't finish a set I leave it for the next time.

Thanks for your feed-back

Thanks carson for the heads up and excuse me paladin for marching on you lawn! I'm new and didn't understand the rules.

Great job.

I would post some form checks in the technique or coaches forums.