• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    hello,

5'10" 195-200 lbs, 45 y.o.

bench 225

squat 265

deadlift 345

i have exercised all my life, i started training about 8 months ago. in some ways i wish i had learned the difference years ago, but then again this opens up new roads for the rest of my days.

as of this past march, i was benching zero since i had strained something in my left shoulder back in the fall of 2013. through slow hard work i made it back to the bar and have made progress. i was never a good presser, so i am happy where i am. for now.

i literally started at bar weight and worked my way up to learn the movements, then i did/do the 5/3/1 program this past year. when i hit a bump i did volume work, then started back up. i suppose i could have higher numbers but

1) technique is more important to me
    2) i have limited reps when i am at 90% +. sucks being old when the brain says go , i guess i will get there slower.

any how, i had the infinite wisdom to sign up for a powerlifting meet, and it is 11 weeks away. if anyone passes by and has some suggestions i would like some recommendations how to prepare over these next 2.5 months and peak for showtime.

i know i am not going to "win", i am not there for that now. i need to go out there and do "MY" best this first time out.

it is a humbling pleasure to be here, thank you all in advance for what you have to offer.