starting strength gym
Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Short, skinny, and no idea what I'm doing

Default Short, skinny, and no idea what I'm doing

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    At the urging of Josh and Gillian at Crystal Coast Strength & Conditioning (I had a great time there this weekend, learned a lot, really got my money's worth), I'm starting this log. Something about public accountability and all that. My long term goals are to deadlift 5 plates and squat 4. Beyond that, I just want to be strong.

I'm a short and skinny bastard, and I can only fix one of those things. So that's what I'm trying to do. I farted around with SS about a year ago, but this is my first time Doing The Program in earnest. I've been at it for about 14 weeks. Here are my stats.

28 years old
    5'4 (and a half, according to the generous nurse at my last doctor visit)
    147lb (up from 120 in December 2014)

Everything is 3 sets of 5 except DL
    Squat: 260
    Press: 96.5
    Bench Press: 132.5
    Deadlift: 285
    Power Clean: 45 (this was the main point of my visit to CCSC)

My starting stats, in case anybody cares:
    Squat: 95
    Press: 60
    Bench: 75
    Deadlift: 135

After Josh kicked my ass Saturday, today was my first day back into the normal routine. I always use the SS warmup calculator as a guide, so I'll only post warmups if there's something anomalous.

Squat: 260
    Bench: 132.5
    Deadlift: 285

Everything felt pretty good today, despite how dog tired I was. Must have been the coaching from Saturday. Also remind me to get up on time Wednesday so I don't have to deal with the madhouse of a gym at 7pm. I'm headed out of town immediately after my morning training but I will be able to get in an afternoon workout on Friday so as not to completely fuck my schedule.
    Last edited by TheMageling; 04-06-2015 at 08:49 PM. Reason: Forgot age