starting strength gym
Page 1 of 32 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Strength Engineer Log

Default Strength Engineer Log

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I'm Phil from Phoenix, AZ. I'm originally from Detroit, MI. I'm 35 years old, USAF veteran, ASU graduate, and I'm a software architect by trade.

Why am I doing this? Most of my life I've battled serious depression and low self esteem. Working out has really been the only thing that truly works on my depression long term. Getting stronger of course also helps with self esteem. Being an engineer by trade I like efficiency. There's nothing more efficient than a barbell strength training program. I've done numerous terrible programs off and on over the years, mostly bro-splits that had me doing 30,000 different isolation movements and the like developed by as Rip calls them "pin-setters" that had no idea what they were doing. Sadly, I didn't know any better at the time. I came across Starting Strength via googling strength programs about two years ago. Worked the program for a couple months, then life got in the way and I fell off the band wagon. Recently I've been back into training the last month and really loving it.