starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: whelp, here goes nothing

Default whelp, here goes nothing

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Little background here:

I have had no prior background in the weight room until I started this program. A few years ago I hurt my knee while hiking Mt. Bierstadt out here in CO (torn meniscus and ongoing tendonitis). I have had recurring rib injuries from training brazilian jiu jitsu. Since then, I've been having issues with consistency in training and doing anything physical. Add that with working from home full time and I went from 165 to 220lbs in the past 5 years and not in a healthy way. Every time i try to go back to BJJ now, i wind up injuring myself in the first few weeks and wind up taking another break before i can ever get back into it.

Enemy number one: consistency

So earlier this year I decided to stop trying to get back into it and focus on getting strong to prevent future injuries. I had a solid intro to SS session with Jayson up in Boulder, CO to learn the lifts and then i got a bit self conscious at the gym and didn't go for a bit. But I just finished my 3rd week of truly doing the program and not skipping and I'm feeling fantastic. I thought I'd start a log here to keep track of progress and to keep myself honest. My goal is to only do The Program (with some hiking on the weekends) until its time to switch to an intermediate program. At that point, I'll start up BJJ again and find an intermediate program that fits my needs at the time. Here goes nothing!

Sex: Male
    Weight: 218
    Height: 6'1"
    BF% from 7pt caliper test: 21%

Staring workset numbers (in lbs):
    Weight: 220
    Squat: 100
    Press: 65
    Bench: 100
    Deadlift: 95

As of today's workout:
    Weight: 218
    Squat: 170
    Press: 80
    Bench: 120
    Deadlift: 195

Today's workout:
    Squat: 45x5x2, 80x5, 110x3,140x2,170x5x3