starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Stuck in Reverse NOT

Default Stuck in Reverse NOT

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi,
    I have been reading Rip's book over and over again and i have been training since 2012 and the progress is slow because I am kinda go with no direction and simply not doing the program right or doing too much accesssories exercise. Anyway, I'm a 39 year old male, weighs 95kg, and here's my bits:

I am doing the program with a slight modification:

1. Bench Press will be replaced with Dumbbell Bench Press, reps scheme will be 3x10. My body just respond better with dumbbells. My chest stretches better, my lats feel better. Press will be done with 5x5 rep scheme.
    2. Deadlift working set(s) will be done with a 3x2 rep scheme with minimal rest time during the sets. The reason I am doing doubles is because I am alternating my alternate grip, because hook grip is very very painful after all these years.
    3. I will put Power Clean on hold because I want to focus on the deadlifts.
    4. Pull up and dips will be done almost everyday with body weight only, no fancy scheme, just do AMRAP on Pull Up and Dips. I am up to 9x reps Ring Pull Up and 15x reps Straight Bar Dips.

Enough said, here's my today, Saturday, Jan 19th 2018 training:

Squat
    BW x 5 x 3
    EMPTY BAR x 5
    60 x 5
    100 x 5
    130 x 5
    140 x 1
    147.5kg x 5 x 3 -> ADD WEIGHT NEXT WORKOUT

Press
    Empty Bar x 5 x 3
    30 x 5
    40 x 5
    50 x 5
    60 x 5
    62.5 x 5 x 5 -> ADD WEIGHT NEXT WORKOUT

Deadlift
    50 x 5
    90 x 5
    130 x 5
    150 x 2 x 3 -> ADD WEIGHT NEXT WORKOUT

Thx

You have either reached your linear progression limit and need to focus on intermediate methodologies (actually that is what you are doing) or you are a very stubborn fellow. Why not consult online with a SS coach?