starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Restarting the Novice LP

Default Restarting the Novice LP

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi all,

Some background to start - I'm a 25 year old male, 6'2", 205 lbs, ~18% bodyfat. I had originally started the Novice LP at the beginning of July last year and stalled out at two or so months in at 225 on the squat and 245 on the deadlift. Can't remember exactly how far I got with the press and bench, but I'm pretty sure it was around 90 and 120 respectively. When I ran the Novice LP the first time, I did not do power cleans - I am a professional musician and have had overuse issues in my forearms and wrists, and did not want to risk doing them incorrectly and not being able to play since I had not been taught them by an SSC at that point.. After I stalled out I decided to switch to 5/3/1 at the recommendation of a friend, and I ran the variation called "5/3/1 for Beginners" until early March of this year. At that point, I decided to see a SSC in my area who coached me on the lifts and suggested that I restart the Novice LP. I've been eating 4000-4500 calories a day since then. Here are the workouts I have done since I started over:

3/13/18 - BW 195
    Squat: 155x3x5 (3 sets of 5 - that's how I've been notating it)
    Press: 85x3x5
    Deadlift: 235x4 (Missed rep 5)

3/15/18
    Squat: 165x3x5
    Bench: 115x3x5
    Deadlift: 225x5

3/17/18
    Squat: 170x3x5
    Press: 90x3x5
    Deadlift: 230x5

3/20/18
    Squat: 175x3x5
    Bench: 120x3x5
    Deadlift: 235x5

3/22/18
    Squat: 180x3x5
    Press: 95x3x5
    Deadlift: 240x5

3/24/18
    Squat: 185x3x5
    Bench: 125x3x5
    Deadlift: 245x5

3/27/18
    Squat: 190x3x5
    Press: 100x3x5
    Deadlift: 250x5

3/29/18
    Squat: 195x3x5
    Bench: 130x3x5
    Deadlift: 255x5

3/31/18
    Squat: 200x3x5
    Press: 105x3x5
    Deadlift: 260x5

4/3/18