starting strength gym
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 29 Year Old Newbie -- Anthony's Log

Default 29 Year Old Newbie -- Anthony's Log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hey Everybody,

My name is Anthony. I’m 29, 6’0” and living in Richmond, VA. I’m posting my training log here, to get a little bit more involved with the community, maybe get some help, and give myself some outside accountability.

Background (Long and Probably Boring):
    I have pretty much no experience in weight lifting or strength training. In my early-to-mid 20’s I maintained a weight of ~165-170lbs by running. I was an OK novice runner, but I’ve always been physically weak.

In 2014, my Dad got very ill. For the few years, I split my time between school, acting (my biggest hobby), and helping my family. During that time, I stopped running , started binge eating, and gained about 30-40 lbs of pure fat.

In January 2018, I was a little over 200lbs. I’m not sure what my body fat percentage was, but, I was getting fat. Beyond that, I just felt weak and unhappy.

From January to June, I lost 40 pounds using “Body for Life,” as a very rough guide. I picked that regiment specifically because I’ve always been embarrassed about my lack of strength. I hate going to gyms, and the Body for Life program let me work out from home, where no one could watch me work-out.

After losing 40 pounds, I still didn’t feel great. I felt weak and tired. So, I decided to try to try something new. After doing some research, I eventually stumbled onto Leangains, which lead me to StrongLifts, which led me to Starting Strength, and, well, here I am.

After reading the book, I finally decided to bite the bullet and give the program a try, even if it meant embarrassing myself a little bit at the Gym.

Starting Numbers:

6/17/2018

• Weight == 158 lbs;