starting strength gym

Thread: Ed's Training Log

Default Ed's Training Log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    FIRST POST

I am new to SS, but I have been listening to the Barbell Logic podcast for six months or more. I had been training with Stronglifts 5x5 since October 2017, and apart from two surgeries that sidelined me for six weeks each, I followed the plan faithfully. However, toward the end of 2018, I noticed that I had plateaued. I can chalk much of that stalling to bad diet, but I was growing increasingly frustrated with the program, especially as I got a weekly dose of Barbell Logic. Finally, starting January 1, 2019, I switched over to SS. I downloaded the app, bought the book, and hit the gym. This log will help document the journey.

A bit about me -- I am a 47 year old father and husband. I write code professionally. Before I started lifting, I was a distance runner for many years. After running two marathons in 2009, I burned out on running and became less and less disciplined until I quit running altogether sometime in the early 20-teens. Years passed and my belly grew thanks to idleness, lots of top-quality beer, and a shitty diet. I started with Stronglifts in 2016 to do something -- anything -- physical to stop my decline. I wasn't committed and had many setbacks. Then, in October 2017 I committed to strength training and hit the gym in earnest.

My current body weight is 216. At 5'10", that puts me in the obese category. Yes, a (un)healthy bulge swells out from the top of my weight belt. My PRs are as follows:
    • Deadlift 5RM = 275
    • Bench 5RM = 165
    • Squat 5RM = 270
    • Press 5RM = 125

I work out Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays.

Squat - 3x5 260
    Bench - 3x5 165
    Deadlift - 1x5 245