starting strength gym
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: An Engineer’s Novice Linear Progression

Default An Engineer’s Novice Linear Progression

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Male, Age 32, 5’11”, 200lbs

As a mechanical engineer, I sit behind a computer most of the day and have a pretty sedentary lifestyle. I had an active childhood all the way through college (soccer, tennis, baseball, ran a few half marathons, etc.) but activity slows down as you become an adult, get married, start your career, and raise a family.

I have no formal weight training or barbell experience. About 5 years ago, I decided to pick up some dumbbells, install a pull-up bar and began P90X. This was fun for a while, I learned how to do chins, etc. but eventually lost interest because there was no detailed prescription of when to add weight, how much to add, and it was mostly bodyweight-type exercises which subjectively increased strength. No one really cares how many push-ups you can do but squatting 315 for reps seems to mean something.

Anyways, I want to get definitively strong. I picked up SS:BBT3 late last year and fell in love with the simple, no-BS approach to lifting along with the detailed explanations of body mechanics and the “why” behind everything. I also bought a half-rack w/spotter arms, power bar, plates, belt, and shoes so I can work out at home. I have 3 young kids (oldest in kindergarten) and must work out at home early before they wake up or it just won’t happen.