starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sartois - Workout Journal

Default Sartois - Workout Journal

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi all,

I'm new to Starting Strength and indeed weightlifting overall, but though I'd say hello and document my meagre progress so far. So, let's start with some base information:

Ocupation: University lecturer (professor in US terminology) so working at a computer most of the time
    Weightlifting experience: Zero
    Weight: 93kg (205lbs)
    Injuries: Plantar fasciitis and a shoulder injury, but both are being gradually worked out
    General exercise goals: Get stronger, improve my cardiac fitness, and increase my flexibility. I'm intending to achieve those through the Starting Strength programme, badminton (though not exclusively), and yoga.

I've been training three weeks or so now, so very much a beginner, but I'm really enjoying it. It's almost 'me' time in a way, since I have to focus on lifting with the right technique. In that regard I decided to start with very light weights and allow my body to get used to weight training in the first place, and make sure I'd got the technique right. As such, I started with 10kg for all exercises, aside from the squat that was 20kg. I'm on the following now (each is for 5 x 3 sets):

Squat: 37.5kg
    Overhead Press: 20kg
    Deadlift: 30kg (5 x 1)
    Bench Press: 17.5kg

Things are going so far, it's obviously early days, and I've put quite a lot of attention into my diet but my real issue is my body fat. I'm around 20% fat and I simply don't want to put in an extra 300 calories a day to 'bulk up', even though I appreciate that's the default thing to do. My clothing is already having trouble fitting, etc.

Any advice re. the food, or indeed anything else, would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Alex

Welcome Alex!