starting strength gym

Thread: Kresso's First Try at Strength Training

Default Kresso's First Try at Strength Training

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    So this is my first time trying strength training. I've mucked around exercising before, but never with the intention to get strong. I’ve always been pretty week but I love hiking and backpacking.

I’m 34 years old, 6’2”, 177 lbs., 13.5% BF. I just started eating 3500 calories this Sunday which is a bit hard to keep it clean and not feel stuffed. Also I am lactose intolerant which stinks - literally I've always tried to "lose weight" when I started exercising in the past so I cut calories, but not this time.

Monday I did the first workout but I only used the bar cause I wasn’t quite comfortable so I read again in the book closer for today’s workout and watched a bunch of Rip’s videos on YouTube so I felt more comfortable with more weight.

Workout #0 (A) 07/29/2019 Monday
    Squats: 45x3, 45x3, 45x3, 45x5
    Press: 45x3, 45x3, 45x3, 45x5
    Deadlift: 95x3, 95x3, 95x3, 95x5

Workout#1 (B) 07/31/2019 Wednesday
    Squats: 45x3, 45x3, 45x3, 65x5, 75x5, 95x5, 105x5x3
    Benchpress: 45x3, 55x3, 65x3, 75x3, 85x5, 95x5x3
    Deadlift: 135x3, 145x3, 155x3, 165x3, 175x5, 185x5x3

The deadlift felt a lot better than Monday's and my back isn't sore at all. I really tried to push my legs out while squatting and keeping my head down.

While these numbers are probably pitiful for me this was amazing. To deadlift my body weight is crazy! In high school I couldn't even do the bar 5 times in benchpress so Im excited to get better at that.

Also if anyone sees that I really am messing up let me know. I read the book and trying to do the best I can.

Workout #2 (A) Aug 2 Friday
    Squat: 115x5x3
    Press: 75x5x3
    Deadlift: 195x5x1

I also got the app and am following it's 5 sets of warmups each time.

Workout #3 (B) Aug 5 Monday