starting strength gym
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Killing Big Chris and creating Strong Chris

Default Killing Big Chris and creating Strong Chris

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Alright it is time. It is time to kill the man who accepted the nickname “Big Chris” my whole life. I have fought with weight up and down throughout my life and always landed on the up side, even after dramatic loss. I was 300 lbs by the time I was a freshman in high school at 12 years old. I got on a double lunch program and by the time I graduated I weighed 400 lbs. I stayed that weight or gained for the next decade. I didn’t even contemplate trying to lose weight until I met my wife, I was 25. By that time I had learned to do everything I wanted to do at 400+ lbs. I have walked into the gym and done it myself, spending hours on the treadmill/bike and not really knowing what to do with weight training just used the pec deck and curls. I have spent time running and running and running (I can’t stand that). I did CrossFit for a while that worked well for me, I had made it down to 270# but the intensity and impact caught up with me. I broke my leg playing soccer and near the end of the recovery I broke my foot.

Now I am 38 and currently weigh 330 lbs. I want to be strong and weigh 250 lbs. I want to be able to do any physical task and look good doing it. I want to make sure I am useful for my whole life.

I did my first training session on Friday via the app and bought the book this week. I will be doing my first Squat/Bench/Deadlift session tomorrow morning and I look forward to setting the numbers that I am going to use through my SSNLP. Though I am going to track my numbers through the app I am going to continue to post on here for accountabilty and hopefully to encourage others. Feel free to make any comment and reach out if you want to know anything.

Hey Chris,