starting strength gym

Thread: Ready to get strong

Default Ready to get strong

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I'm a grad student that hasn't touched a barbell since HS baseball. Back then it was all about explosiveness, now I'm ready to test my body's ability to get as strong as it can get. I bought the book, a truckload of rice, chicken, eggs and milk, and a year-long membership to a local strongman gym. Tired of being weak, tired of having aches and pains when I'm only 21, and tired of only being known as an egghead.

I'm ready to be strong.

I'll follow a Tuesday-Thursday-Sunday schedule, because it works for me.

Started last Tuesday - I followed the SS method of finding weight to start at, and here's what I came up with:

Squat 135
    Bench 115
    Press 65
    DL 185

BW 194 (Height 5'11)

Today

Squat 170
    Bench 125 (Sunday)
    Press 70
    DL 220

BW 197

My semester (4 month) goals are 135-225-315-405 & BW 220
    (Press-Bench-Squat-DL)

Are these reasonable expectations? Or will it take above average results?

Thanks for the input, and I'm excited to be a part of this community.

-Cale

Week 2 update:

This book and program have been the best investment of my young life. My body weight is now 202 lbs and I've lost 2 inches off of my waist. I sound like a freaking infomercial but I don't care. The first hit was strong and now I'm addicted to the iron.

My working sets today were:

Squat 185
    Press 75
    Deadlift 245

Each workout is more weight but seems easier every time. Did I potentially start too low? It likely doesn't matter, I'll still improve every day until I can't anymore.

Feeling good. Feeling real good.

Hey, I'm glad to see you taking this journey.

You threw some questions into your first couple posts. I'll give my answers.

Your questions, in reverse order: