starting strength gym

Thread: New to program

Default New to program

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    am not exactly brand new to weightlifting. I've been doing CrossFit and weight training for over 10 years.
    Where should I start weight wise with this program? not 45 lbs I would assume?
    And what happens when you plateau at a weight? As in not able to finish all five reps?
    Do you just lower the reps the next workout or go down in weightt or how does that work??

Do you have the basic two books? Have you contacted a coach? The books and the coaches will guide you in your questions.
    Do you know what the LP is? That is the first issue.
    SS is a scientifically based step by step program. There are clear cut reasons for each step. Get the books. Read them. Then contact a coach.

Welcome! Book is nice to have, I have both but you can find enough to get you through several weeks online in articles and listen big to Rips podcast. Good luck! Did you get started? If not pick light weights you can move easily and work on technique for a few weeks. Then you will be confident moving up.

Guys, thank you for the feedback and actually replying. This is a form though quit telling me to get the books please. I heard about this from my cousin and I'm giving it a shot and I downloaded the app. Y'all want this to grow. Help me out I'm asking questions on a form. I thought that's what this is for to get expert opinions and advice

Here’s a few notes on the workout:

You work out 3 days a week
    There are two different routines: A and B
    You alternate the two, with a rest day in between
    Low repetitions are the best to build brute strength
    With this in mind, let’s look at the two different days that you’ll alternate.

There’s Starting Strength routine A:

Squat: 3×5
    Overhead Press: 3×5
    Deadlift: 1×5
    …and then there’s Starting Strength routine B: