starting strength gym

Thread: SSNLP for Weight Loss and Lower Back Pain: a Log

Default SSNLP for Weight Loss and Lower Back Pain: a Log

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    34 years old, 5' 9", 270lbs, >40%BF

I'm an untrained novice with no prior experience. I'm overweight, and have had lower back issues since experiencing a work-related injury in my early 20s, and constant sciatic nerve pain for the last 5 years, or so. I am in plumbing and HVAC, in a subtropical climate, and so spend many hours in hot attics and crawlspaces, hunched over or navigating through a maze of duct work and roofing trusses. No simple feat for a fat man. When my sciatic nerve becomes aggravated, it's virtually impossible for me to perform my job.

After a particularly bad summer this year, I made the decision to drop weight and strengthen my back in hopes of alleviating some of the pain, and reducing general wear and tear on my body while at work. I've been familiar with Rippetoe's novice program for some time now, and after recent renewed interest, was surprised to find that I created this account 7 years ago. Yeah. Time to cowboy up and DTFP.

After making the decision to start training, I was still in the middle of a sciatica episode, and was in too much pain to begin. I found a blog post Bill Starr had written about a friend with an injured back, where he had the guy do daily, high-rep, low-weight good mornings and HDLs. Followed that advice for about 3 weeks, until I felt that the pain had subsided enough that actual training was an option. Old habits die hard, and discipline is hard to cultivate, however and I've spent the last two weeks dicking around and familiarizing myself with the lifts. My back feels better than it has in a long time. While I obviously don't expect the program to fix a fucked up disc, I am optimistic it will improve quality of life and make the pain more manageable.