starting strength gym
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Training for health and tone

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Quote Originally Posted by Dydo View Post
    Just something to clarify why I don't want to start SS. First, even if I buy the book, I don't speak English well. Entering forums and using a translator that immediately automatically translates what I wrote is one thing, but having a book is quite another. I don't actually know if it's electronic or paper. And there are so many questions for a person like me that there is a very high probability that I will mess something up and not run the program as prescribed. I've read a lot and see that quite a few people who are not complete beginners and have some experience with the exercises are confused even though they have the book. I may not be very strong, but I'm not an absolute novice and I don't know what weights to start with. With an empty bar, with 50, 70, 80% of my current 5 reps, etc. I am 49 years old and should I squat three times a week. I have excess fat to lose, I can't overeat. I am 178cm /5.83ft/ and weigh 106kg. /234 pounds/ And many more questions. I don't want to waste my time with a program that I may not start the right way or apply it correctly to my specifics.
    It's not that the program isn't good.
    This can be solved by reading all three books
    Starting Strength (blue)
    Practical Programming (grey)
    Barbell Prescription (over 40)

I'm sure you can manage to read them if you put in the effort.

You are the exact definition of a rank novice, you have a lot of misconceptions to clarify and worries to clear off your head, and the way to do it is to read the books and learn.