• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Deadlift: 275lbs
    Squat: 260lbs
    Bench: 175lbs
    Press: 130lbs
    Power Clean: 110lbs
    Body weight: 187lbs

Hi, it’s my first time posting in the forum. I’ve been training in the gym for 10 years, but never attempted strength training before. I started SS after a 3month long layoff due to a hip injury, and have been training consistently since late July (with a 2-week break due to Covid).

I’ve seen great progress so far: squat went from 135lbs to 260lbs, deadlifts from 150lbs to 275lbs, press from 95lbs to 130lbs, and bench from 150lbs to 175lbs. Due to my hip injury I had to start light…Power cleans are still a new move for me, so I’m taking it slow (I started novice phase 2 a month ago).

My progress in squats and presses has started to slow down quite a bit, though. I’ve increased my bodyweight from 178lbs to 187lbs, and my rest periods from 3min to 4min. However, every workout feels like a grind, and my knees and low back need at least 2 days to recover. Is it time now for me to switch to novice phase 3? Should I just increase my rest periods even longer? or should I introduce a light squat day as in the advanced novice program?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Quote Originally Posted by TurboKostas View Post
    Deadlift: 275lbs
    Squat: 260lbs
    Bench: 175lbs
    Press: 130lbs
    Power Clean: 110lbs
    Body weight: 187lbs

Hi, it’s my first time posting in the forum. I’ve been training in the gym for 10 years, but never attempted strength training before. I started SS after a 3month long layoff due to a hip injury, and have been training consistently since late July (with a 2-week break due to Covid).