starting strength gym
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Tucking elbows on the bench

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I don't "flare" my elbows, but rather approximately 75* as Rip recommends. I generally keep my shoulder blades back hard. I'm no pro at the bench (obviously) so I'm sure I did something wrong - it just seems to me that Tate's style artificially inflated my bench numbers - great for competition, not so great for novice trainee with a weak bench.

Quote Originally Posted by allyn703 View Post
    Also I think the point is to lift the most weight possible, that is why we low bar squat. If a long ROM was the most important thing to consider, wouldn't we all be doing decline bench?
    ...Then wouldn't we all 1/8th squat more weight? Low bar gives me maximum ROM of my hip joint and below parallel gives me maximum knee joint ROM. None of this leds itself to max weight. (incidentally, aren't decline benches even shorter rom because you are effectively creating a super-arch chest height?)

Gotcha, Like I said I'm still new to all this, and still learning as you can tell LOL. I wasn't trying to take shots at anyone, just trying to clarify. I've had a difficult time benching with my elbows out for a while now.

Yeah, Your right about the decline....Im an idiot

For the love of god don't take what I'm saying as any kind of benching lesson. I suck at bench - currently nowhere near bodyweight for a 1rm (probably would be if I didn't blow out my shoulder...). I'm just speaking from experience as a crappy bencher.

Quote Originally Posted by MazdaMatt View Post
    I suck at bench -.... I'm just speaking from experience as a crappy bencher.
    Same here. LOL