starting strength gym

Thread: Squat form check, long-established hip discomfort

Default Squat form check, long-established hip discomfort

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi all! I'm female, 31, 5'3", 128 pounds. I've been lifting for more than a year, but have always had some problems with my left hip. Like most people, I don't have a coach, so I thought it would be worth posting videos to see if anyone can spot any problems in my form.

I have been doing 5/3/1 for 2 months, but haven't been happy with my squats so I'm resetting and squatting 3x a week for now.

This is a side view of 5x133 pounds.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0SAKhQ5Q_ak#t=00m05s

This is the same set from a rear angle.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mdHkGyzg8-k#t=00m22s

This is a video from a month or two ago at 5x152.5 so you can see what my form looks like with heavier weights. I failed my attempt the following workout at 155, so this is pretty much a 5 rep max for me.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y-H-AYNrikMt#t=00m10s

In general, the hip feels better when I'm active than when I'm not, so I have no plans to stop squatting. If anyone spots something that might be contributing to the left hip pain, or anything else I can improve on, I would really appreciate it.