starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Novice form help needed.

Default Novice form help needed.

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Ok so Im new at this. Never did these before last week. Ive read the book and trying to use form correct. But I work alone and would like feedback on what to do better. Sometimes my squats do not feel correct on working sets.

The dead lift is not a working set but form I think is same. Excuse camera angles I was not sure which would be best to show form.

dead lift
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ha_dIT1zu6g
    press
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2wdI4jce1sg
    squat
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6lL7qKt8QiE

Thanx for any feed back

Deads - [edited out]

Press - bar path is not vertical. Squeeze your lumber spine and bend backward more at the hips (but don't lose the tightness in your abs in doing so!). Use the camera or a friend to make sure you are starting in a position so that the bar is starting directly over mid-foot.

Squat - squat deeper. Shove your knees out more. I can't comment on your feet placement since I can't see them, but you may need to point your toes out more to allow you to shove your knees out, which will help you squat deeper.
    Last edited by Megabreth; 12-13-2010 at 11:21 AM. Reason: Cuz people make mistakes, amirite?

DL:

You are not squeezing your chest up. Lifting your head is not squeezing your chest up. Without dropping your hips, try to point your tits at the wall.
    Also, turn your toes out more and push your knees out into your elbows.
    Finally, read the sticky on posting videos. You need to back the camera up, because we need to be able to see the whole bar for the whole rep.

Finally, for the love of god, clean that rust off the bar. It's a fine piece of equipment, and you should take better care of it.

Quote Originally Posted by Megabreth View Post