starting strength gym

Thread: Press and Deadlift Technique

Default Press and Deadlift Technique

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello

Just looking for some pointers on these two lifts. On the dead lifts I have a tendency of have the bar about 1/2" - 1" away from my shin is this okay or is there something I'm doing wrong.

Press -http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tv-jMP5Smso

Deadlift - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XdsqMLEtE6g

First, I'm not an expert so other opinions should probably trump mine. If the bar is away from your shin you have, or will have, trouble with your deadlifts. It really should rub/slide/run along your shin for the whole lift. This may tear your shins up (I have a bald patch along my shins from this), but with those tall socks, it shouldn't be too bad. The closer you keep it to your leg, the easier it is to keep all the other form issues and the less stress there should be on your back. For me, thinking about pulling the bar into my legs with my lats while keeping my arms straight does the trick. You've got some rounding in the lower back which is probably in part due to the bar being too far forward. I think if you can lower your butt down some more this will help, too. At the end of the pull, you should have your knees fully extended (I can't tell from the video if you do or do not have this). Similarly, make sure you finish standing up at the end. This may sound like a lot, but I've seen (and done) worse lifts.