starting strength gym

Thread: Press - hip thrust questions, belt, etc

Default Press - hip thrust questions, belt, etc

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello.

My current lifts are pretty weak: DL 230x5 Sq 230x5 Press 100x5 I have only recently been upping the calories, realizing that part of the program. I am about 6'1", 180

I have been doing presses for several months, with basically no lower body movement. This is due to an older L4/L5 injury that I have been avoiding. The lower back hasn't given much issue, but I have been very conscious to avoid rounding of the lumbar.

I recently reviewed one of Mark's recent videos on the press, which emphasized the total body aspect of the press, including the hip movement. I practiced that movement a little , without the bar, and it felt pretty good. I think I'll carefully incorporate that into the press, starting very light to see how it goes.

I noticed the use of a weight belt in the videos. I haven't been using a belt in any lifts, assuming it would make my back stronger without it (and I haven't been lifting mountains of weight by any stretch). I suspect it would be a good protection to use a belt with the press?

Thoughts?

What mgilchrest said is correct.

I'd like to comment on what you said about improving your back strength without a belt. The purpose of the belt is to provide external resistance around the gut. The resistance allows you to produce a harder contraction with the muscles of the trunk (when you perform the valsalva). This resistance actually helps those muscles to get stronger than they could without the belt.