starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Squat technique advice

Default Squat technique advice

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello.
    I would really appreciate any feedback/advice on my squat. I am a novice, and I am trying to improve my techniques in the main lifts before adding any weight (thus the empty bar).
    I am having a hard time performing and feeling the squat. I feel no soreness or activation in my legs neither during nor after squatting. After the recorded set, i only felt sore in my lower back because i tried to create lumbar extension, and in my hip flexors.

Thanks!

Brodie Butland is offline Starting Strength Coach
    Consigliere

Correction: you feel sore in your lower back because you never actually extend it.

No problem...this happens sometimes. Watch this video, then try again:

Starting Strength: Video

A few other things to bear in mind:

(1) This is about control, not speed. I'd rather you do a slower, controlled motion to the bottom and get less of a bounce than that you divebomb and lose back extension (once you learn how to do it).

(2) An empty bar set will not tell me much about your form. Form breakdown typically occurs around at least 80% of one's 5RM, and a lot of times form problems with an empty bar set will resolve themselves after weight is added. We'll need to see some weight added to have good advice.

(3) Your knees are way too far back. Get them forward, and break your hips and knees at the same time.

Thank you very much for your answer, i really appreciate it.

Quote Originally Posted by Brodie Butland View Post

(1) This is about control, not speed. I'd rather you do a slower, controlled motion to the bottom and get less of a bounce than that you divebomb and lose back extension (once you learn how to do it).