starting strength gym

Thread: New to lifting, DL form check

Default New to lifting, DL form check

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Newbie here, trying to learn to correct my mistakes before they get too cemented in.

From just watching myself, I see I relax my upper back after I set the weight down, while a lot of vids I see, other lifters stay tight even between reps. I'll work on that.

Also, I see many with like a 45 degree back angle, with respect to the ground, while mine is closer to like 20 degrees. Is this a problem, or one of those things that's dependant on arm length, leg length, torso length, and relative humidity of the summers in your current residence?

Deadlift form work - YouTube

Yes, back angle depends on anthropometry. It also depends on distance from the bar. If the bar was over your toes, you could squat to it, but your lift would suffer. I know a lifter who shifts some fearsome weights whose dimensions are such that his back is horizontal at the start.

Your set up doesn't follow the exact SS model. It would probably help you.

Put feet under bar, you do that
    Bend down, keeping the legs straight, you don't do that. I've found that going from flexed back to extended helps me feel the extension more than trying to extend from the outset.

I think you could set your back in extension more.

Stance might be wider than you need, maybe.

I'm not sure that staying tight between reps is necessary. Just complete the rep, set up again and go

Back angle has mostly to do with distance from the vernal equinox, and then some anthropometry.
    In all seriousness...you're set up every rep on your toes. Turn your toes out, push your knees out, rock back to midfoot, then get squoze. You could do with squeezing up a bit tighter.

Quote Originally Posted by chrisd View Post